Retirement is a long-lasting phase that can be divided into different stages:

1. Planning

In planning for retirement, you will begin to consider when you should retire, where you want to retire, and how much money you need to save. In addition, it is also very important to be emotionally prepared. It’s a good idea to look ahead to your retirement and set some goals so that you don’t rush blindly into it. Only when you are mentally and physically prepared for retirement will you be able to make a smooth transition into retirement.

2. Excitement

As with all major life events, the looming retirement will make you increasingly excited. Without the mundane entanglements, retirement becomes a stage where you can choose to be whoever you want to be. The future is open to infinite possibilities.

3. Contentment

This stage of retirement is also described as the honeymoon stage. Honeymoon is always nice but short. At the beginning of this stage, you may try many new things such as learning a new skill or travelling to places you’ve never been before. But unfortunately, the honeymoon period doesn’t last forever. As time goes on, you may become dissatisfied and confused with your life again.

4. Disenchantment

As soon as the contentment vanishes, you may become discontent with your retirement life and start to wonder what’s the meaning of all these.

5. Reorientation

This is almost the last stage of the retirement before you really live the retired life. And after all the stages you’ve been through, you may figure out what do you really want to accomplish. This transitional period allows you to have a better positioning of your own and a better plan for your future.

6. Adaptation

As you become more familiar with retirement life and begin to adapt to a new set of rules, you will find a new sense of purpose, and start to enjoy the life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.